Bucket List

Well morel season was pretty bleak but I am very thankful for the winecaps and early oysters. Not going to cry ... well ... maybe a little and some whining ... sniffle ...

Instead I'm going to work on my 'bucket list'. I'm still new to gathering edible mushrooms except morels which I've harvested for over 60 years.

I found one king bolete year before last. I didn't know what it was at the time. I harvested several edible boletes this past year but they were not king boletes. So, this year, I want to harvest (and eat) some king boletes. Over the past year I've been logging hemlock patches to check this year.

I'm going to toss one more into my bucket for this year. I want to harvest a hen of the woods. Field guides inform me they grow in my area. I've looked every year for four years now and have never found one.

I may add more to my bucket list as the spring turns to summer and then fall ... what's on your list?

I want to find some fresh White Matsutake. Maybe after I retire I'll spend a little time out on the west coast at the right time of year for them. Also, even though they are reported from PA, I've yet to find Lactarius indigo. I'd like to get into another Rocky Mountain burn site and find a few "greenies", a large Fire Morel. Some of the interesting varieties of west coast Chanterelles and morels would be fun to find.

I am also rather new to the edible hunt except for morels,chants and oysters . I feel comfortable in my knowledge of these as table fare .

I'm with you 4rum, my bucket list includes expanding my knowledge of boletus, and though I have never found a king (to my knowledge), that will be

a top of the list to do's this year . That is, if they even exist here ?????????

But I also want to expand my database beyond edibles . I think that learning on the fly will require many, many years .. But that is the challenge, and the

fun of it ..