What makes a great mushroom photo?

With the mushroom season getting ready to start and with some here posting on Mushroom Observer, I thought I would ask the question, what makes a great mushroom photo? What makes a photo pleasing to the eye and what types of photos are useful for ID and teaching?

Some universal rules will always apply. Try to get the light source behind you or to the side without creating undue shadows with your head or other body parts. A little composition though won't hurt. Try to capture the natural setting or even arrange it to make it more appealing. Move a leaf, add a leaf etc. Try to take your time to focus the very best you can. Hold the camera as steady as possible or use a tripod and with a digital camera, take lots of photos and keep the best. A good FREE editor like Irfanview will help with sizing, one touch 'fixes' and things like that.

ID is a different story. You need to be a bit analytical. I'm new at this myself but would suggest a shot of the mushroom as it grows, then the cap (if it is a capped variety), then a close up of the gills, the stem (stype), the base, any collar or veil, and maybe even a cross section of the stem. All need to be as clear and in focus as you can manage. Transferring and posting images can have an effect on color so a good description of the coloration or patterns on all parts of the mushroom should accompany the images ... and the spore print if you make one and can get a photograph of it.

I'm sure I forgot, or don't know some other improtant points. I'm also sure you'll get more excellent input here.

Great question.