Sulfur Shelf?

Ryo

First of all, allow my to introduce myself as this is my first post. I hail from the Pacific Northwest, in a suburb of Vancouver, BC. I'm a beginner picker and haven't really expanded my repertoire from king boletes and white chanterelles. That said, I've been taking lots of pictures of most mushrooms I find, for the ID'ing exercise. I look forward to being a part of the community.

I was out grouse hunting today and came across this shelf. I believe it is a sulfur shelf, however it does not have the light margin, and isn't as swollen as most pictures I've seen. Hmmm...

Thanks in advance for your help!

post-873-0-55431600-1411174408_thumb.jpg

post-873-0-96558200-1411174467_thumb.jpg

That looks like one to me, although I'm not one of the experts here. In my experiences the thin ones are not worth keeping yet I hear some cut the first inch or so from the outer edge.

How were the birds holding today?

Our grouse season doesn't open for a month yet. My dogs old , but has a little left in him and I'm anxious to hit the woods.

Thanks all!

Grouse hunting was a bust - just one bird, which I was too slow to even get a shot at. Apparently it's not a plentiful year in my area (but that is no excuse foe my poor hunting skills). Alas, I went looking for one chicken of the woods, but came out with another!

The Sulphur shelf starts out as a rounded mass that expands horizontally and flattens vertically. Your specimen has probably expanded as much as it can. The best ones for eating are still rounded at the outer edge.